Targeted Ads

How well targeted are Facebook Ads? not very well is my opinion.

Alongside my newsfeed I spotted one selling products for people getting older. That’s me. I’m getting older. I know. I move the abacus on one bead every January.

So I took a shufti at this site and it has some remarkable stuff on it, such as …

A floor light with dimmer. This is a fancy angle poise lamp that reaches up to five feet, and it directs 3 times more light onto the page than a 60-watt bulb. The most astonishing thing about this thing is the price. £250 (give or take a copper). TWO HUNDRED AND FIFTY QUID? For a lamp that stands behind your chair and serves only two real purposes: 1) it gets knocked over every time I move the chair back and 2) it gives the dog something to cock his leg up against when it’s too cold to go out.

I’m not slating this company in particular, but Facebook’s ill thought out targeting.

Cruises for example. Do I really want to shell out most of next year’s income on a cruise two days after a luxury liner was attacked by pirates in the Indian Ocean? Her Indoors gets sea sick on the Bridlington Belle and that only goes to Flamborough Head and back and there are no pirates on the Yorkshire Coast (although looking at some of the prices in the chippies, you could be forgiven for thinking otherwise.)

Dating agency are another lot of ads that show up regularly. I’ve been married twice, and all up it comes to about 40 years. Don’t you think I’ve been punished enough without starting all over again? And that’s not to think of what Her Indoors might say if she caught nipping our for a few brown ales with a 22-year old blonde from Basingstoke (They’re always from Basingstoke. Will someone tell me what’s going on in Basingstoke?)

Are you a DJ has shown up quite often just recently. No I am not a frigging DJ and I don’t ever recall claiming that I had been one, so why are you pestering me?

The content provider sites are always there. Sorry but when I write for cash, I expect a bit more than $2 per 1,000 words which is what one site was offering. I laughed all the way to writing “piss off”.

And the latest ad is from a well known genealogy site (I won’t mention them by name, they don’t publicise my work) asking if I know about the Loch Ness monster. Are they insinuating that I might be distantly related to a mythical beast? If I am, trust me, it’ll be something a lot worse than Nessie.

About Flatcap

Flatcap is in residence, tucked away in his corner of the public bar, where for the price of a brace of brown ales, he will treat you to his world-weary opinions on any and every subject you can think of and a good many you can't.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Targeted Ads

  1. Rebecca Emin says:

    I wish you could turn the ads on FB off altogether, they drive me up the wall.

  2. I have Go-Kart parties advertised on mine ‘… a most exciting experience for 3-9 year olds’. Apparently you race around an inflatable course. Am tempted.

Leave a Reply

