Flatcap’s New Year Philosophy

It’s January 2nd and ever since New Year’s Day became a public holiday (yes I do remember a time when it wasn’t) I’ve always regarded this as the official start of the New Year. January 1st is always taken up with a party at my sister-in-law’s farm, anyway.

So today is the day and what’s changed?

To begin with, I’ve changed … my shirt and underpants. I realise it’s not a leap year, but hell, if you can’t put clean shreddies on at the start of January, when can you?

The weather’s changed, too. It’s been quite mild these last few days, but the temperature dipped last night and I had to put another lump of coal on the fire. Time I was ordering another delivery. The last sack that we had delivered in 1974 is almost out.

United won an away game yesterday. Now there’s a change.

Aside from that, I can’t see anything much by way of change in the world or in our house. Her Indoors is still sleeping it off and she won’t see the light of day until one-ish. The dog, overfed on leftover turkey, roast pork et al, is with her, and a scan of the Sunday Garbage (aka newspapers) reveals that the world is its usual filthy mess.

In other words nowt has changed.

This is a mystery to me. I’m not good with people. Dogs, brown ale and pork pies I understand, but people are an enigma. Why, just because we’ve ripped December from the calendar and added a digit to the year, do they expect things to change? If that were going to happen, why not on February 10th, April 14th or July 33rd?  Why January 1st?

Truth is, of course, it’s not the world that needs to change. It’s you.

And New Year resolutions are a total waste of time. In 1983 I resolved to give up using her roasting trays for catching old engine oil, but I’m still tasting Duckham’s Multigrade with the roast beef and Yorkshires.

So there’s Flatcap’s New Year philosophy. Stop waiting for change to happen. Change yourself and make it happen.

BTW if I didn’t get around to wishing you a Happy New Year, don’t take it personally. I couldn’t be bothered.

About Flatcap

Flatcap is in residence, tucked away in his corner of the public bar, where for the price of a brace of brown ales, he will treat you to his world-weary opinions on any and every subject you can think of and a good many you can't.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

